Pharmaceuticals

Halal Medicinal Products, Traditional Medicines and Health Supplements

Halal medicinal products, traditional medicines and health supplements intended for human application, consumption and use that are permitted by Hukum Syara’ and fulfil the following conditions:

  • contains ingredients that do not contain any parts or products of animals that are non-halal to Muslims according to Hukum Syara’ or products of animals which are not slaughtered according to Hukum Syara’;

  • does not contain any ingredients that are najis according to Hukum Syara’;

  • is safe;

  • is not prepared, processed or manufactured using equipment that is contaminated with things that are najis according to Hukum Syara’;

  • does not contain any human parts or its derivatives;

  • is physically separated from any other medicinal, traditional medicine and health supplement product that does not meet the requirements stated in items above or any other things that have been decreed as najis by Hukum Syara’ during its preparation, processing, packaging, storage or transportation.

Najis

Najis is anything that is implied as impure by Hukum Syara’.

 

Najis according to Hukum Syara’ are:

  • pig (khinzir) and dog or their descendents and derivatives;

  • carcasses of :

    • non-halal animals according to Hukum Syara’;
    • halal animals that are not slaughtered according to Hukum Syara’.

  • any components extracted from:

    • live animals with exception of their eggs (laid) and honey; and
    • halal live animals with exception of their milk and fur.

  • blood

  • discharges from orifices of human beings or animals either in the solid or liquid form that consist of :

    • excrement;
    • urine;
    • pre-seminal fluid discharged when sexually stimulated (Al- Madzi);
    • viscous cloudy liquid usually discharged after passing urine or when lifting a heavy object (Al-Wadi);
    • vomit
    • pus

  • liquor (khamr) or any intoxicating drinks and beverages.

There are three types of najis:

  • Najis Mukhaffafah which is considered as light najis. The only najis in this category is urine from a baby boy at the age of 2 years according to Islamic calendar (qamariah) and below who has not consumed any other food except mother’s milk;

  • Najis Mutawassitah which is considered as medium najis which does not fall under severe or light najis as stated in paragraphs above

  • Najis Mughallazhah which is considered as severe najis which are pigs (khinzir) and dogs or their descendants and derivatives.

Land Animals

All land animals are halal as sources of starting material intended for halal medicinal products, traditional medicines and health supplements except the following:

  • Pigs (khinzir) and dogs and their descendents;

  • Animals with long pointed teeth or tusks to which they use to kill their prey, such as tigers, bears, elephants, cats, monkeys, etc;

  • Birds with talons or predator birds;

  • Animals that are enjoined by Islam to be killed namely rats, scorpions, snakes, crows, kites (bird) and rabid dogs;

  • Animals that are forbidden to be killed in Islam namely ants, bees, hoopoes (Hud-hud), shrikes (Shurad), swifts (Khuththaf), frogs and bats;

  • Creatures that are generally considered repulsive such as lice, flies, worms, maggots, centipedes, mosquitoes, wasps, beetles, lizards, cockroaches, spiders, etc;

  • Animals that can live both on land and in water such as crocodiles, turtles and frogs, etc.

  • Animals that are not slaughtered according to Hukum Syara’.

However, any product derived from live land animals listed above that are halal according to Hukum Syara’ can be used as starting materials. These include their eggs (laid) and honey.

 

Aquatic Animals

Aquatic    animals    are    animals    that    live    in    water    and    cannot    survive    outside    it,    such    as    fish.
All aquatic animals are halal as sources of starting material intended for halal medicinal products, traditional medicines and health supplements except those that are poisonous, intoxicating or hazardous to health.
However, if the poisonous, intoxicating or hazardous substances are removed from those aquatic animals and they become non-poisonous, non-intoxicating and safe for consumption, these sources are halal and can be used as starting materials for halal medicinal products, traditional medicines and health supplements.

Plant Origin

All types of plants including land and aquatic plants, their by-products and/or derivatives are halal except those that are poisonous, intoxicating or hazardous to health.
However, poisonous and intoxicating plants when used in amounts within their permitted scientific    limits    deemed    for    medicinal    and/or    therapeutic    use    are    halal.

Fungi and Micro-organisms

All types of fungi and micro-organisms such as bacteria and algae, and their by-products and/or derivatives are halal except those that are:

  • poisonous;

  • intoxicating;

  • hazardous to health;

  • obtained or originated from live land animals;

  • cultured in a medium containing non-halal ingredients.

Types of Starting Materials

Alcohol

Ethanol or ethyl alcohol, also known in layman’s terms as alcohol, is non-halal when given or consumed internally, according to Hukum Syara’.
Ethanol can be produced by two ways:

  • Yeast Fermentation of Carbohydrates This is how liquor (khamar) or intoxicating drinks and beverages are produced.

  • Chemical Synthesis This involves the mixing of esters or hydration of ethylene.

Ethanol produced or extracted from liquor (khamar) or any other drinks that are characterised as intoxicating are termed as najis.
Synthetically produced ethanol is non-najis. Halal medicinal products, traditional medicines and health supplements containing synthetic alcohol for external use are halal. It can also be used for cleaning of equipment as long as it does not contaminate any preparation for internal use.


Biotechnology Products

All biotechnology products that involve the use of DNA from animals and plants are halal except those that are produced from animals and plants which are non-halal according to Hukum Syara’.

Blood Products

All types of blood and its derivatives are non-halal except for liver and spleen obtained from animals that are halal according to Hukum Syara’.

Enzymes

All types of enzymes intended for use in halal medicinal products, traditional medicines and health supplements are halal except those obtained or originated from aquatic animals, plants and microbes that are non-halal according to Hukum Syara’.
Enzymes obtained or originated from live land animals and those that are not slaughtered according to Hukum Syara’ are non-halal.

Fats

All types of fats are halal except those that are obtained or originated from animals and plants which are non-halal according to Hukum Syara’.

Gelatine Halal

not when obtained from non-Halal spices, according to Hukum Syara’.

Heparin Halal

except when obtained from najis.

Hormones and Growth Factors

Hormones and other regulating proteins in the body are halal except when they are obtained or originated from najis.

Liquids

All types of liquids and their by-products are halal except those that are najis, poisonous, intoxicating or hazardous to health.

Nutritional Proteins and Amino acids

Nutritional proteins and amino acids are halal except those obtained or originated from animals and plants which are non-halal according to Hukum Syara’.

Shellac

Shellac used in sugar coating of tablets is halal except when obtained or originated from animals which are non-halal according to Hukum Syara’.

Vitamins and Minerals

All types of natural and synthetic vitamins and minerals are halal except those obtained or originated from animals and plants which are non-halal according to Hukum Syara’.