In Arabic, the word halal means permitted or lawful. Halal foods are foods that are allowed under Islamic dietary guidelines. According to these guidelines gathered from the Qu'ran, Muslim followers cannot consume the following:
Pork or pork by products
Animals that were dead prior to slaughtering
Animals not slaughtered properly or not slaughtered in the name of Allah
Blood and blood by products
Birds of prey
Land animals without external ears
These prohibited foods and ingredients are called haram, meaning forbidden in Arabic.